+0 - 0  by /0 comments

Southwestern Greats Return for Hall of Fame Inductions

The recently inducted Southwestern Athletics Hall of Fame and Hall of Honor class of 2014 includes Ken McAllister ’64, Danny Mickan ’84, Ronda Seagraves and the 2007–08 women’s golf team.


Ken McAllister ’64

 Ken_McAllister_REVA 2013 Texas Tennis Museum Hall of Fame inductee, McAllister was a two-year letter winner on the Pirate tennis team, and competed in number 1 singles and number 1 doubles from 1962–1964. Upon graduation, he began coaching at Snyder High School, leading his players to three UIL state titles.

Personally, McAllister has had 35 Texas rankings since 1971, five USTA rankings in 1983 and won the 1988 PTR National 45 Singles Championship. He was named Texas Pro of the Year twice and has been a USPTA Master Professional since 1987.

Inducted into the Texas Tennis Coaches Hall of Fame in 2000 and Snyder High School Athletic Hall of Honor in 2011, McAllister is now USTA President.


Danny Mickan ’84 Danny Mickan ’84

Mickan is known for his sincerity and humility, as well as his on-field contributions. Through four seasons, Mickan was an integral part of the Pirate baseball teams that made four postseason appearances and two National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) World Series appearances. In 1984, SU finished third in the nation and Mickan was named the NAIA World Series Golden Glove Award winner.

He was an Honorable Mention All-Big State Conference pick, earned a spot on the All-Academic Team in 1982, and was an NAIA All-District selection in 1983. In 1984, he was named to the NAIA All-Area, All-District and All-Tournament Area II teams, and selected as the District IV Player of the Year. He is still tied for the record most hits in a season, 98 in 1984, with Pat Leonard ’90.


Ronda Seagraves

Seagraves_REVWhile at SU, former head coach and administrator Seagraves aspired to develop student athletes to be their best on and off the court and truly epitomized what it meant to ”Be Southwestern.” She is the only coach in the history of Southwestern Athletics to win two Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Championships in the same year, taking home titles in women’s basketball and women’s golf in the 1997–98 academic year.

An SCAC Coach of the Year in 1998, Seagraves led the Pirates to their only women’s basketball championship and post season appearance. She was also the SCAC Golf Coach of the Year in 1998 and 1999, with conference championships in 1997 and 1998. The 2000 team was the first women’s golf team to reach the post season, finishing fifth in the nation.

Seagraves coached 10 All-SCAC players and has a 108–115 overall record in nine seasons at Southwestern with a 243–198 overall coaching record.


2007–2008 Women’s Golf Team

No other sport has left such an indelible mark on the University in recent years like the ’07–’08 women’s golf team. After capturing the SCAC Conference title, the team advanced to the NCAA Championship and posted the highest finish ever for a Pirate golf team, bringing home third place honors.

The team was undefeated in conference match play with an 8–0 record and posted a team match record of 100–24. Coach Dan Ruyle earned SCAC Coach of the Year and NGCA Regional Coach of the Year honors. Marisa Mauldin ’09 was an NGCA First Team All-America selection, SCAC Golfer of the Year, NGCA All-American Scholar and NGCA All-Region Team pick. Kristen Davenport ’10 was an NGCA All-American Scholar and NGCA All-Region Team, and earned NGCA Second Team All-America honors. Delilah Dominguez ’09 was a Third Team All-America pick and NGCA All-American Scholar.


Southwestern Hall of Honor

In addition, 10 former student athletes were inducted into the SU Hall of Honor, which includes student athletes who have reached the national level either in the classroom or on the playing field. This year’s inductees include James Charles ’13 and Karissa Speck ’13 for golf, Lilly Duarte ’14 and Jameson Otto ’07 for cross country, Evan Perkins ’13 for soccer, Karen Ramirez ’14 for softball, Rachel Thibodeau ’13 for volleyball, and Bailey Thompson ’11
for swimming.

Story by Kristina Moore

+ 0 - 0

  Post comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *